To provide a predictable monthly/annual billing, Cloud Backup offers a simple per-user pricing to all the users in an O365 tenant with a license and enabled SharePoint Online workload. Thus, regardless of how many people access a SPO site collection, the determining factor of the charge will still be on a per-user basis.
By default, any Office 365 user with a SharePoint license is enabled for SharePoint and thus will incur a SharePoint backup charge. However, if there are users who are licensed for but not using SharePoint, you can avoid paying a backup charge for those users by disabling them for SharePoint in the Office 365 Admin Portal before billing occurs.
There are two billing options available for Cloud Backup, SharePoint only:
- Annual Subscriptions:
Disabling users for SharePoint in the Office 365 Admin Portal before billing occurs is especially critical for annual subscriptions. Once an annual or prorated charge for backup has occurred, it will not be refunded, even if the user is later disabled for SharePoint in the Office 365 Admin Portal during the annual subscription.
However, there is a ‘true-up’ window when the subscription renews. At that time, the charges will be reset to the number of licensed SharePoint users who are enabled for SharePoint in the Office 365 Admin Portal at the time of billing.
- Monthly Subscriptions
When a user is disabled for SharePoint in a monthly subscription, there will be no Cloud Backup for SharePoint charge for that user upon the next monthly billing cycle.
Please note that the dashboard in your SkyKick portal shows site Collections and not seats, or SharePoint